Winter Gear.

teagar
teagar Posts: 2,100
edited November 2008 in Road beginners
So horrible weather is upon us once more.

I've decided, after trying my first proper turbo session, that cycling inside just isn't for me, so I'm going to go all out for winter gear.

Alas I'm a novice when it comes to bad-weather riding. What would you recomend for cold riding?

I already have some 3/4 bibs and a thin long sleeve top as well as the usual short shorts and t-shirt top (quick-step :lol: ), but quite frankly, it's not keeping me very warm!

So far on my list of things to ask santa i have:

- mud guards
- some warm coat/jacket/vest/thing (no idea what!)
- full length bib or leg warmers?
- arm warmers?
-Some kinda glove (any recomendations?)
- hat/something to stop my ears hurting from the cold wind
- overshoes?

Whatcha think? Any specific recomendations? I do get cold very quickly, but I don't intend on riding out in the snow, just single digit weather.

Cheers :)
Note: the above post is an opinion and not fact. It might be a lie.

Comments

• pdstsp
    pdstsp Posts: 1,264
    Personally - and I suffer from cold - overshoes, full length bib-tights - I use lusso ones and have both fleece lined and un-lined ones for v.cold or not so cold days, base layer, long sleeved jersey and altura windproof jacket. If its really cold I also have a funny tea-cosy thing which fits under your helmet to keep my baldy head warm.

I sweat like a pig with that lot on but its better than freezing and I rode all through the winter last year which was a first for me.

I don't use mudguards but do put a rear race blade on on wet days.

Enjoy - its certainly better fun than a turbo.
  • morrisje
    morrisje Posts: 507
    Buy this months Cycling Plus. It contains a long article on different type of winter kit for each type of rider.

Basically it is:-
    Windproof jacket
    Good base layer
    Bi btights
    Overshoes
    Gloves
    Headband or one of those thin skull caps