hi ther

mtbstu
mtbstu Posts: 14
edited November 2008 in MTB beginners
i bought this bike for my birthday http://www.amazon.com/Mongoose-Metric-B ... B0012NRWEQ

and was wondering if these forks would fit for christmas?
http://www.bike-parts-direct.co.uk/prod ... d-cup.html

Comments

• Your forks will be worth more than your bike.

What riding are you doing?
  • mtbstu
    jumps and stunts i can do cross ups and 1 footers. do you think the forks will be good for me?
    i jumped over 2 friends the other day on my bike
  • That's an xc fork, and not suitable for what you're doing.
    If you want to upgrade your fork you post a question in the jumping section.
    Northwind wrote: It's like I covered it in superglue and rode it through ebay.
  • mtbstu
    but im a beginner?
  • With that bike I would suggest getting full XTR gear first as those forks are worse than the standard forks you have on your bike as you have two lots of elastomers and coils whereas those forks aren't as good and are very cheap just keep what you have and put on a fixed gear XTR hub.
  • mtbstu
    my bike is really heavy and these forks are really light so i thought it would make it a light bike?
  • Those forks weigh 3.4lbs that's over TWICE the weight of your WHOLE bike you would be a fool to think that it would reduce the weight.

If you really want to reduce the weight then you should drill holes in the frame and the rims and seatpost and sand down everything you can.
  • mtbstu
    will drilling holes be ok? i have already thought about this but thought that it might make it rusty inside?
  • Hey, welcome to the forum!

The forks are awesome, and excellent, but entirely unsuitable for what you plan to do, they're pretty lightweight cross country/trails forks and wont withstand jumping for long... particularly with the carbon fibre crown and steerer!