Checklist for before after cycling?

Cantdosleepy
Cantdosleepy Posts: 122
edited November 2008 in The workshop
I'm just beginning this commuting business. What should I be doing before and after each journey? At the moment before a ride I just give the tyres a quick squeeze to make sure they're firm, and then make sure my lights are working. After a ride I just stick the bike under a tarp.

What are the three or four things I should be doing every pre/post journey?

Comments

• biondino
    biondino Posts: 5,990
    Before: yawning, making sure you get into your clothes without falling over or putting them on backwards. After: slumping onto sofa with optional beer/glass of wine.
  • Indeed.

My morning routine does have a worrying 'stand near radiator until bleary eyes stop watering' step in it. Then after 200 metres on the bike my left eye is usually streaming.
  • spen666
    spen666 Posts: 17,709
    check your lights when you get home.

They may look bright after being off for 12 hours, but not have sufficent charge to keep them bright all journey- they run down
    Want to know the Spen666 behind the posts?
    Then read MY BLOG @ http://www.pebennett.com

Twittering @spen_666
  • I usually check my brakes before leaving as well., also that i have my lock and keys!

For watery eyes, i've found clear glasses work wonders, IIRC yellow lenses help with low light conditions as well.
  • Porgy
    Porgy Posts: 4,525
    Remember trousers - especially of you have an important meeting.
  • For before after cycling I'd recommend checking that:
    (a) you have stopped
    (b) if (a), you are not in the middle of road
    (c)if (a) and (b), you have placed one or more feet on ground.
  • yup my wife has a habit of silly falls of bikes, ie stop by kerb put foot out, which isn't quite long enought, and then keel over...

though she hasn't for a while since I sorted her out a bike that fits.
  • mhuk
    mhuk Posts: 327