Food stops

marcelino
marcelino Posts: 46
Hi. I've never done a sportive before but am training over the winter in order to do my first one next year.

I'm just wondering about the food stops. Is there generally decent provision for people who don't eat meat at them?

Comments

• vermooten
    vermooten Posts: 2,697
    Yes indeed - usually cakes, flapjacks, cheese butties, that kind of thing. Some better than others. Meat is very rare actually.
    You just have to ride like you never have to breathe again.

Manchester Wheelers
  • I've only experience meat-based snacks at Italain granfondo events, usually because one of the sponsors is a food manufacturer of such products.

At one event they were handing out slices of prime bresaola (cured beef) which was delicious!

Savoury stuff is more likely to have cheese in -- mini pizzas for example -- but anyway, you won't see that in any UK event, except maybe a soggy sausage roll as part of the post-event food (if there is any at all).
  • Cheers. Just reading about all those bacon rolls on the Exmoor Beast got me thinking.
  • fizz
    fizz Posts: 483
    marcelino wrote:
    Cheers. Just reading about all those bacon rolls on the Exmoor Beast got me thinking.

I think thats an exception. I've never seen that before in my short sportive career. Mind you it was cold and wet yesterday so I think they were put out so peeps could get some hot food inside them.

I've seen Tuna in the rolls at a few feed stations but never meat such as ham etc etc.

Otherwise its been pretty much as Vermooten describes.
  • I've only experience meat-based snacks at Italain granfondo events, usually because one of the sponsors is a food manufacturer of such products.

At one event they were handing out slices of prime bresaola (cured beef) which was delicious!