Bicycle Trailers-Any Information would be fantastic!

3D Student
3D Student Posts: 11
edited November 2008 in Tour & expedition
Hi Everyone, I am a 3D Design student at University. I am currently working on a project which promotes cycling and public transport. I have been researching into bicycle trailers. However I have very little experience using them. Does anyone own, use or commute with a trailer. What are the biggest pros/cons with the designs. What puts you off buying one is it the price, image or style? What is the best design one/two wheels? Do you use your trailer for shopping. Have you got any thoughts or opinions about evolving the design? Any information would be really useful thank you.

Comments

• priory
    priory Posts: 743
    What has stopped me touring with a trailer is the problem of getting it on busses and trains and aeroplanes.It's bad enough getting the bike on .
    Raleigh Eclipse, , Dahon Jetstream XP, Raleigh Banana, Dawes super galaxy, Raleigh Clubman

http://s189.photobucket.com/albums/z122 ... =slideshow
  • Cunobelin
    Cunobelin Posts: 11,792
    I cheat!

I use a Radical Cyclone which is basically a framed holdall with wheels.

A good durable trailer, but once the wheels and arm are off (30 seconds)- it is a holdall so no problem with trains etc.....

Trailer:

2000320inch_big.jpg

Holdall (I usually place the wheels inside..)

wielhoes.jpg
    <b><i>He that buys land buys many stones.
    He that buys flesh buys many bones.
    He that buys eggs buys many shells,
    But he that buys good beer buys nothing else.</b></i>
    (Unattributed Trad.)
  • Hi, Thanks for all the useful info its been a great help, Does anyone shop or use there trailers for anything else (could be anything)..

Thanks

mat