Supplements for training

davehiscock
davehiscock Posts: 23
edited October 2008 in Road beginners
Hi guys,

My name is Dave and i am new to the world of road biking,

I have been biking now for 7 months and have gone from 10 miles and being shattered to going 50 miles and feeling o.k . i am now thinking of supplements and a training program but i dont have a clue of how to do both or what to buy???

Im currently 25 and im slim build, with a natural strengh, which has come from working on site as a plumber for 10 years. I really want to step forward and continue training which is why i have purchased a set of TACX rollers, but again need help on what to-do next. PLAESE HELP!!!!!!!

Many thanks Dave
Trek 5200 oclv

Comments

• kingrollo
    kingrollo Posts: 3,198
    If your thinking of supplements as in energy drinks and vitamin tablets - I would save your money .

I would suggest the next step is to buy a heart rate monitor and work out your zones - a search on the web for 'cycle training with a HRM ' - should give you the basics of a getting started training program .

you might then want to consider what your goals are - be it weight loss, distance, or competing in a TT ....
  • azzerb
    azzerb Posts: 208
    I'd get a whole load of maltodextrin off somewhere like myprotein.co.uk , good source of carbs to mix into your water bottles, it's cheaper than energy powders (these are mainly maltodextrim along with sodium/other nutrients).
  • Vivid
    Vivid Posts: 267
    Supplements like Protein Shakes are good for recovery as its basically just giving your body what it needs.

Sport Supplements UK do a good deal on a 24hr protein stack which has Whey Protein Isolate (for morning and post-workout) and Milk Protein Isolate (for before bed).

This was the stack:

http://www.sportsupplementsuk.com/epage ... 20Stack%22