toilets on the road

Jd987
Jd987 Posts: 9
edited October 2008 in Road beginners
I am a real newbie, and so this question.
I have started cycling for leisure on Sunday and live in London. I am exploring the cycle paths having got hold of the cycle route maps form the Transport for London website.
My question is how to find toilets during a long cycle ride.
Would I be able to use the toilets in petrol stations?
I know public toilets are not that available in London, and it can be a real hassle trying to find one.
Would the shop keeper question me if I go in just to use the toilet? Since I will be wearing a helmet and cycling clothes, it may become evident that I got in the shop just to use the toilet.

Comments

• Empty your bowels before you leave the house and then secluded bushes are sufficient for everything else....
    I know I am a neanderthal but nature provides these things for us.....just don't let anyone see you doing it as you could et reported for indecency :twisted:
    17 Stone down to 12.5 now raring to get back on the bike!
  • chuckcork
    chuckcork Posts: 1,471
    Al Fresco p*ssing, aka getting back to nature.

Just try not to do it in front of nuns, schoolgirls or police.

The first will be shocked, the second will depending on age scream or want a closer look, the third might get you arrested.
    'Twas Mulga Bill, from Eaglehawk, that caught the cycling craze....
  • redvee
    redvee Posts: 11,922
    chuckcork wrote:

Just try not to do it in front of nuns, schoolgirls or police.

The third will ask you to stop mid-flow :shock: , hit you with an £80 fine or ask you to clean it up or does in Brizzle.
    I've added a signature to prove it is still possible.
  • Nick6891
    Nick6891 Posts: 274
    dont ride in london haha

dont know how nice people are down there but in the north they proberbly wouldnt be bothered, but you can always just find a tree to go behind :lol::lol:
  • Jd987