mtb to road

gazofglos
gazofglos Posts: 21
edited October 2008 in Road beginners
Hi all i have been riding mtb for several years but have just started dabbling in road riding and have bought my self a second hand carrera valor ( not the best i know ) but it is in like new condition i am going to have a go at time trials next year so this is perfect to do some training on through the winter i was going to upgrade the wheels but after reading other posts on the forum it seams a better idea to just upgrade the tyres for now, has anyone got any suggestions of of which ones would be a good choice. just out of interest i timed myself over a hilly ten miles yesterday for first time at 42 min. how much quicker do i have to get so that i don't embarrass myself next spring?

Comments

• gazofglos wrote:
    Hi all i have been riding mtb for several years but have just started dabbling in road riding and have bought my self a second hand carrera valor ( not the best i know ) but it is in like new condition i am going to have a go at time trials next year so this is perfect to do some training on through the winter i was going to upgrade the wheels but after reading other posts on the forum it seams a better idea to just upgrade the tyres for now, has anyone got any suggestions of of which ones would be a good choice. just out of interest i timed myself over a hilly ten miles yesterday for first time at 42 min. how much quicker do i have to get so that i don't embarrass myself next spring?

42 minutes for 10 miles is about 7 miles per hour..... I presume it is very hilly as that is not that fast. Without knowing the route though it is impossible for anyone on here to judge you so don't take any comments too much to heart. As far as the tires go I am a bit of a newbie myself so will be unable to help on that one.
    17 Stone down to 12.5 now raring to get back on the bike!
  • in the cotswolds about 70% uphill and 30%flat
  • Noclue
    Noclue Posts: 503