What speed are MTB's

canada16
canada16 Posts: 2,360
edited October 2008 in MTB beginners
Hey

Im currently running a LX front mech with XT rear shadow, with LX shifters.

How do I know what speed Shifters I need to buy.

Total newbie question I know, but its something I have never bought before or changed, just getting started on my bike for life and doing my own upgrades, and messing up as I go along, but hey rather me than some 16 year old at halford, or having to pay for it through LBS.

Thanks guys.

Comments

• jayson
    jayson Posts: 4,606
    Im presuming u have triple chainset (3 rings) at the front so u will either have 8 or 9 sprockets (cogs) at the back giving u either 24 or 27 gears.

Its a simple matter of counting the sprockets and then buying either 8 or 9 speed changers.

easy easey :D
  • canada16
    Crank is a LX hollowtech 3 ring.

And the back cassette is 9 rings.

So I can get either get a 8 speed or 9 speed shifter?

Whats better?
  • -liam-
    -liam- Posts: 1,831
    You NEED a nine speed shifter.
  • jayson
    As above, u need a 9spd shifter.
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    jayson wrote:
    As above, u need a 9spd shifter.

you need a 9spd SHIMANO shifter.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • canada16
    The reason I ask is that the LX shifter are not very quick, I need to push right down to get a higher gear.

Does the XT or XTR, shift with one click and thats it?

Or do you need to push right down again to get a higher gear.

I hope you know what I mean.

When you go to a smaller gear its ok, but the bottom gear lever, you need to press down to get to another link on the crank.

Hope this makes sense

Thanks guys,
  • nicklouse
    sounds like poor set up or dirty cables, the shifters up the range just get lighter but do not really change in feel.