New boy

thebluefox
thebluefox Posts: 200
edited October 2008 in MTB beginners
Just though I'd post a quick hello. I've recently started riding more to increase fitness, and therefore started to get into riding trails/tracks, although there is only one semi decent near me :(

I'm also looking for a new bike, as my current one is slowly failing and falling to bits, and is actually becoming horrible to ride. However, I have little knowledge of what to look for, but I've spotted some stickies that look helpful, so I'm off to read those :)

Fox :)

Comments

• Ouch, no one saying hello? :(
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Lol, hi ;-)

I was waiting for you to come back after you had read the stickies!
  • Haha, i see! Theres some informative stuff, can't help feelin i need some tailored advice though :?

And maybe an understanding expert to show a complete newbie the ropes!
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    to receive advice you need to ask questions.

also we have No idea what type of bike you are looking for (to do what) or how much you want to spend.

Suggesting a £4K Downhill bike might be wrong :wink:
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Lol, yeh, a 4k downhill bike would be :P

I'm after something thats not too difficult to ride on the road, but is more as comfortable on the dirt and trails. I've just bought this new imac, so im after something as cheap as possible, possibly second hand. Would prefer hard tail and would love hydraulic disc brakes...... :)
  • supersonic
    Sooo, what budget? Roughly?
  • Depends when the next pay cheque comes!! :P

Looking around £300 - £400 maybe? Was looking to get something better second hand, therefore cheaper?
  • supersonic
    2nd hand is good if you know exactly what you need and are looking for. Remember no warranty, no aftersales care.