new to road-bikes & frustrated

2112 Posts: 10
edited October 2008 in Road beginners
Hi there,
I'm new to this, converted to road bikes and excited because I know I'm going to love it and because I just got a really nice bike even though I can't really afford it.
However I am frustrated because I can't seem to get the gears to work. I suspect the problem is with me (lack of brains) and not the bike. :?
Are bikes packaged and sent in such a way that you have to tighten the gear cable tension at the derailleurs? When I press the gears (thumb button or lever beneath the brake) nothing happens. No cables move, etc.
Help!
I will be so grateful to anyone who can help me with this.

Comments

• John.T
    John.T Posts: 3,698
    The dangers of buying on the internet. You have not given us much information. Make and model of gears etc is helpfull. As a rough starting point both gear cables should have just a little slack in them when you are on the small chainring and the small cog.
    Check out Park Tools website. It tell you how to do most jobs on a bike.
    http://www.parktool.com/repair/
    Thanks, John T. It's a Dave Hinde L'Etape Sport Bike - Campagnolo Mirage 10 Groupset. I just got it yesterday, which is why I think there is more likely to be a problem with me than with the bike...

http://davehinde.veriovps.co.uk/Merchan ... d0f96bd7f9

In all other ways the bike seems great. I am very keen to get riding and wondered if there is anything I need to do to the gears to get the bike roadworthy. The bike came mainly assembled - just had to put the handlebars, seat, pedals, etc on.
  • John.T
    Your best bet is to go to the gears section of Park Tools and check that your settings match theirs. It is always good to find out how things work on your bike in case they play up out on the road. It can save a long walk home.
  • a_n_t
    a_n_t Posts: 2,011