Campagnolo

bikesdontfloat
bikesdontfloat Posts: 200
edited October 2008 in Campaign
11 speed?????????

Surely there are bigger design flaws left to tackle for the bicycle than the lack of a further gear at the back.

Have Campagnolo run out of ideas?
<hr noshade size="1">If BMWs are such good cars why do their drivers never trust their brakes as they approach an amber light?

Comments

• nick hanson
    nick hanson Posts: 1,655
    It's called progress.
    When i started riding,it was all six speed, then came ultra seven.
    when 10 speed was introduced (& nine speed before) many said it was excessive.
    Not many of us on ten speed,when reaching a lumpy section of a ride, think,oh dear,I've got far too many gears to choose from!
    so many cols,so little time!
  • redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    11 speed?????????

Surely there are bigger design flaws left to tackle for the bicycle than the lack of a further gear at the back.

Have Campagnolo run out of ideas?

What have Shimano done for 2009, apart from doing something Campag and SRAM have been doing for years? I don't think Shimano have got any ideas either.
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • 6-speeds, you Johnny-Come-Lately!
    5 speeds (Well, 10 with the "double clanger" and sometimes all 10 would be useable!)
    for me and a few on the club runs using Sturmey-Archer 3 speeds and the occaissional nutter on 66" fixed too!
    It's the law of diminishing returns, there's not a lot else doable with a bike, weights are probably as low as technology will permit reliably, brakes are as good as they'll get (Mafac centre-pulls anyone? :( ) , various clever handlebar shifters as against down-tube ones, various aerodynamic rim & spoke designs (Without excessive weight penalties).
    The only real changes would come with more esoteric & under current UCI regs, illegal designs.
    After all, recliners have been out there for years, but only a few "eccentrics" ride them.