Hi, I'm new and looking for some entry level bike advice!

parklaneyido
parklaneyido Posts: 19
edited October 2008 in Road beginners
Hi. I am relatively new to cycling. Only cycle for pleasure really. I do take part in the BHF London to Brighton every year. I recently sold my flat handlebar Carrera road bike (Don't slate me, I didn't realise how bad they were :lol: :oops: ). I am now looking at getting a road bike with drop bars. But I'm having a little bit of trouble deciding which would be a suitable choice. My budget is about £500 max. I have been looking at the Giant range. The SCR 4 or the 2009 defy Link Here. Any helpful advice would be much appreciated! :D

Comments

• sicknote
    sicknote Posts: 901
    HI Parklaneyido

I am getting back to road bikes myself and have you have a look at the Carrera vanquish as well, from what I have seen. its a good bike at a good price plus to 08 models will be dropping in price soon as the 09 models will be out.

If I had the money right now I would have a good look at them myself plus would have to get it pass her in doors ( I dont think so :roll: )

Good luck with what ever you get plus is that park lane in Tottenham and if it is that is just down the road from me :wink:
    I live near the North Mid
  • Sicknote wrote:
    HI Parklaneyido

I am getting back to road bikes myself and have you have a look at the Carrera vanquish as well, from what I have seen. its a good bike at a good price plus to 08 models will be dropping in price soon as the 09 models will be out.

If I had the money right now I would have a good look at them myself plus would have to get it pass her in doors ( I dont think so :roll: )

Good luck with what ever you get plus is that park lane in Tottenham and if it is that is just down the road from me :wink:
    I live near the North Mid

Thanks for the advice, I'll check out that bike... Although I did say to myself I wouldn't go back to Halfords!