compact/double/tripple

gareth2134
gareth2134 Posts: 198
edited October 2008 in Road beginners
Hi guy just seen this is the right place for beginners i posted this thread in a different room so i will put it in here instead and hope to get a response.

New to road biking i am swapping over from mountain biking so my knowledge on road bikes is limited.

I am currently looking to buy a nice road bike and come across the trek madone 4.5 which i think should be good enough if im a beginner what i dont understand is that when looking online for it i seen different prices for the same bike but they had options of buying the 4.5 in compact/double or even tripple and i dont understand what this means could somone clear it up for me if you dont mind thanks.

Comments

• redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    it's all about the number of teeth on the chainset.

Triple = eg 53/39/30
    Compact = eg. 50/34
    Standard double = 53/39

Smaller ring (lower number) will give a lower gear - better for climbing eg a triple normally has a 30t small ring
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • Fantastic thanks for the extra £200 pounds its worth me getting the tripple then.

:lol:
  • I'd recommend against a tripple.
    I have one (on my first bike) and only used it 3 times in four years now it's a hinderence to using the full range on the cassette.
    http://twitter.com/mgalex
    www.ogmorevalleywheelers.co.uk

10TT 24:36 25TT: 57:59 50TT: 2:08:11, 100TT: 4:30:05 12hr 204.... unfinished business
  • Oh ok well i will look into this more then. is double a standard on all road bikes then and is it the prefered choice to most riders.
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    If you're young and pretty fit already you'll probably cope OK with a compact double, unless you live in a spectacularly hilly area, or you're about to leave for the alps.