A few problems with my new bike.

Singing Mulefa
Singing Mulefa Posts: 9
edited October 2008 in Road beginners
I have recently bought a Cannondale CAAD9 Optimo road bike. It is a brilliant machine and has made my 15-40 mile a day run around much more pleasurable. I have sold my car and so my bike is my only mode of transport..and using it every day I have noticed a number of little (and some big) things that annoy me about the bike.

1. Gears - it takes two clicks of the left hand gear changer for the chain to move on the main cog, down. I have to stop and get off my bike for the chain to change to the larger cog....an irritation but my LBS has said they will have a look at it. They have said that the cables might be loose? I am new to all this and find....when I tighten the gear cables using the tightening thing at the front of the bike the gear changer become too tight and therefore unusable.

2. Chain - When I change the front cogs to the smaller of the two my back gears (cogs) change gear without me wanting them to...it is irritating and normally happens at crucial moments (like going up hill)...Also I am constantly worried that it is going to happen and it makes the journey rather stressful.

3. Lights - I have two very good front lights (with a high and low beam) but the gear cables get in the way of the beam and make travelling at night rather dangerous..

4. Seat position - I am sure this is probably been answered in another thread but I have been told by another road cyclist that I sit "all hunched up on my bike". Should I have my seat higher....will this improve my sitting position....how much of a difference can seating position make?

5. Do road bikes always groan and creak? My bike makes some pretty crazy noises.....how do you get rid of them?

6. I am intending on cycling all the way through the winter....how should I cycle diffently in the snow? or ice? - Slower and with more care is what I thought...are there other things I can do to make it safer?