Bar Bag and lights !?

Neil Fat man on a bike
edited October 2008 in Tour & expedition
I'm just wondering are there any problems with conventional bar mounted lights and bar bags.
I've never used a bar bag before and have just bought an Ortlieb.
Will the lights clear the top of the bag?

I was going to get something like these:-

http://www.ayuplights.co.uk/content/view/34/101/

Very small and neat, very light and also good for mountain biking.

Comments

• Take a look at these...

http://www.sjscycles.co.uk/category-Fro ... ts-783.htm

There's also a cheap plastic thing that bolts through the fork crown, but I can't find one online.
    It's an uphill climb to the bottom
  • pneumatic
    pneumatic Posts: 1,989
    Well anticipated! Yes, there is definitely a problem with an Ortlieb bar bag and bar-mounted lights; the former obscures the latter dangerously.

I had to buy one of those extension thingies (t-shaped) to lift the lights high enough to see over the bag.

I've often wondered why nobody at Ortlieb has thought of using the mounting bracket as a light-holder. You could design a powerful headlight and battery combo to clip in there and it would be very elegant and secure (IMHO).

Obviously that would be instead of the bag, rather than aswell as it, although a very clever boffin might find a way round that.

Fast and Bulbous
    Peregrinations
    Eddingtons: 80 (Metric); 60 (Imperial)

• nwallace
    nwallace Posts: 1,465
    I use a Space grip but it is annoying me.
    The bolt that holds the band on the bars has too soft a head and now can't be turned.
    The band isn't holding on to the bars as well as i woudl like and give it a bit of a blast on cobbles and the light is soon pointing the wrong way.

I like the look of the Nitro holder on this site
    http://www.peterwhitecycles.com/light-mounts.asp

Looks like a proper clamp rather than a tightened aluminium band
    Do Nellyphants count?

Commuter: FCN 9
    Cheapo Roadie: FCN 5
    Off Road: FCN 11