Land's End - John o'Groats

ASpencer
ASpencer Posts: 8
edited September 2008 in Road beginners
I'm an utter novice at bikes but have decided to challenge myself to do Land's End to John o'Groats in 10 months time with a friend. Just looking for any advice anyone can offer me really (that's advice other than "Don't do it!!"), I currently have a very basic mountain bike which I've not ridden for a few years (so you can tell how incredibly novice I am) and am looking into getting a touring bike ASAP to get some serious training underway! Any suggestions of bike models?

Cheers,
Andrew

Comments

• whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,704
    Are you planning to do the ride supported or unsupported?

What will you use the bike for other than the LEJOG?

What's the budget?
  • firstly my advice is do it......

My next door neighbour who is 70 did it in May over a 2 week period on a hybrid with no issues other than the weather.

His training was 25 to 40 miles 3 times a week from sept. but he stuck at it right thru the winter and built up his core strength with gym sessions

If you don't purchase in the next few days my suggestion is to get out on your existing MTB whilst the weather is still amazingly good and its light until 7 ish

Visit your local bike shop for some advice, its also a great time of year to pick up some real bargains.

....of course get some proper shorts and don't wear any underpants with them....seams will give you saddle sore grief
  • If you're riding unsupported then you will need a touring bike to carry your gear. Claud Butler and Dawes have some good quality tourers at reasonable prices but if you want to splash out you can get one custom built from a good bike shop.
    Here's a box,a musical box. Wound up and ready to play.
    (brian Cant,Camberwick Green).
  • thanks for all the helpful replies!