What should my feet be doing when I stand up?

msw
msw Posts: 313
edited September 2008 in Road beginners
When I get up out of the saddle, I suddenly feel like I don't know what my feet are supposed to be doing. Toes down, heels down, trying to keep them flat, or what? My feet don't feel like they naturally just go to the right place..

I've been cycling for years (but with a few years off...) and never noticed this before. If anyone can help that would be great. The only thing I can think of is that I've just got some new SPD-SL pedals and I'm still getting used to the horizontal "float": my old ones were standard SPDs without any float at all really.

cheers all
"We're not holding up traffic. We are traffic."

Comments

• I find it easier with my feet pointed slightly down at the front, but you want to keep your feet fairly horizontal I should think it would hurt quite a lot if you tried to do it with your toes pointed str8 down.
    The gear changing, helmet wearing fule.
    FCN :- -1
    Given up waiting for Fast as Fupp to start stalking me
  • boybiker wrote:
    I find it easier with my feet pointed slightly down at the front, but you want to keep your feet fairly horizontal I should think it would hurt quite a lot if you tried to do it with your toes pointed str8 down.

I guess it may be a case of "different strokes for different folks".
    I like to lean forward with my face over the front of the bike. Toes end up pointing almost straight down at the bottom of the stroke as I push backwards toward the rear wheel. I don't tend to be above the saddle at all....more in front of it.....Probably terribly inneficient as I can't possibly get my whole weight on the pedals!
    17 Stone down to 12.5 now raring to get back on the bike!
  • Infamous
    Infamous Posts: 1,130
    Pedal.

Hope this helps.
  • John.T
    John.T Posts: 3,698