Riding Breacon Beacons this weekend- What're your advices?

theseawind
theseawind Posts: 7
edited September 2008 in MTB rides
Hello there,

I'm new to the UK and am planing give Brecon Beacons a try this weekend. I'm a typical B rider mostly ride CX from San Francisco Bay Area. I plan to base myself in Brecon and would like to camp out for one night leaving from London Friday afternoon. Is there anything I should know of and bring other than helmet and the typical gears. What trail do you recommend. Where should I camp? Any nice local restaurants, hostels that I should make use. All information is greatly appreciated.

It would be great to find a local group ride there but I don't know anyone yet. Do you? If you happen to be at Brecon Beacons this weekend or have the weekend free, you're more than welcome to join in. Bring your sharp mind and positive attitude.

Thanks!

Comments

• If you're in Brecon the gap route is a good all day route with some decent descents and good views over the beacons. A quick google should give you a few routes or take a look at www.mtbwales.com.

Afan trail centre isn't too far from Brecon and definitely worth a visit. www.mbwales.com (not the same as the above) has info on trail centres in the area.

I'm based in Merthyr Tydfil so if you're still looking for riding buddies on the weekend drop me a message. It's a shame you weren't around last weekend or you could've done the Brecon Beast www.breconbeast.co.uk
  • Thanks welshwardy for the info and the offer! I would be great to have your company. :D

Where is Afran trail located? Can I ride to the trail head from Brecon or will a bus ride do the job?

I checked the weather forecast. It looks like the temperature will be around 18C this weekend with no rain. Can I trust the forecast or should I bring rain gears with me?

Aw... bummer that I missed Brecon Beast last weekend. I was still moving in London on Sunday. Hopefully there will be another chance.