Starting on a hill....

soy_sauce
soy_sauce Posts: 987
edited September 2008 in Commuting chat
is it me or starting on a hill going up is actually difficult?

as you prop know by now, im a newbie and just been commuting for 2 weeks. i found it difficult to start on a hill when going up it. i end up almostly rolled backward.. :oops:

also somehow i can't manage to lift the front wheel up to go onto pavement and stuff.. :oops: my workmate told me that i can use the sup fork to help lifting the front wheel up which i tried and seem to work but i worry if that will damage the fork and wonder if there is a easy of doing so...

i only own a bike before i get my current one via Cycle2Work scheme and it was a BMX with stablisers when i was 7!! :lol: so im a total beginner when it come to cycling..
"It is not impossible, its just improbable"

Specialized Rockhopper Pro Disc 08

Comments

• Ive only been riding for a few months but it does get better.

The last time i cycled I was 13 when i had a raleigh burner GS LOL

It does come with time Im still trying to figure which gears to use just put it in what get me there quicker.

Im hoping these guys on here will educate me I would say hang in there it is hard but worth it i got down 3 hills going and three coming back so can sympathise
    dRiNk hArD....... rIDe eAzY
  • I used the 'push-on-suspension' trick on the suspension bike that I owned as a teenager relatively often for a leisure cyclist, and it didn't appear to do any harm. It was a Raleigh of some description (can't remember which, and it's 220 miles away), and cost a total of £110 some 8-10 years ago, so I imagine that any (non-bargain bucket) bike made today will be just fine.
  • msw
    msw Posts: 313
    Starting going uphill is more difficult, simple as that! It will come though. Just try to get a really good hard shove with your first pedal stroke so you've got a bit more time to find the other pedal...