Which Hybrid?

guichoke
guichoke Posts: 4
edited September 2008 in Road beginners
Hello guys, total beginner thinking of getting a hybrid bike. I am leaning towards mainly road use, but would like the option to take it off road, or at least not destroy it by hitting a curb!

I will be using the ride to work scheme which limits me to the Evans range only, price range of under £900.

I would really appriciate any help at all, Im totally stuck.

Thanks so much

Comments

• I wouldn't spend £900 quid on a hybrid

Either get a road bike for £600 and spend the rest on a hybrid, or if you will definitely be going off road, get a cyclocross

a £900 pound hybrid will be a compromise on and off the road

I got a hybrid, thinking the same as you, but now mainly use my ancient old boneshaker of a road bike while I wait for Bike to Work to come in at our place
  • alfablue
    alfablue Posts: 8,497
    wiffachip wrote:
    I wouldn't spend £900 quid on a hybrid

Either get a road bike for £600 and spend the rest on a hybrid, or if you will definitely be going off road, get a cyclocross

a £900 pound hybrid will be a compromise on and off the road

I got a hybrid, thinking the same as you, but now mainly use my ancient old boneshaker of a road bike while I wait for Bike to Work to come in at our place
    I would agree, though I guess you cant but two bikes simultaneously on the scheme. Go for a road bike or cyclocross.

It is best to avoid bumping up kerbs anyway (going down them is okay). I have a road bike and it is quite okay for the odd ride on a canal path or other track, providing the tyres are good quality and properly inflated. You can fit fatter tyres (28's) to offer a bit more compliance and protection if necessary.

If you are commuting and / or want to use it year round, get one with mudguard clearance and fittings, many sub £1k road bikes do, and most cyclocross will.