New to commuting by bike. And biking.

Jen J
Jen J Posts: 1,054
edited September 2008 in Commuting chat
GregP told me to come over and say hello.

So, hello.

I'm very new at all this biking - got my road bike just a couple of weeks ago.

I live a pathetic mile away from the office, so although biking there is great as it stops me being lazy and jumping on a bus, it doesn't seem very worthwhile, yet at the end of the day I find it hard to do a longer route home as I just want to get home etc.

I'm doing longer rides at weekends and building my confidence, and have just read Richard Ballantine's City Cycling book, but has anyone got any invaluable tips for dealing with traffic jams at lights combined with nearby bus stops, other than get off and walk? Today I fell into the side of a bus...
Commuting: Giant Bowery 08
Winter Hack: Triandrun Vento 3
Madone

It's all about me...

Comments

• downfader
    downfader Posts: 3,686
    I found that until my fitness improved I had to keep pulling over and walking to catch my breath. No shame in it, and its safer than falling over in the road :)

Welcome to the forums :)
  • simon_e
    simon_e Posts: 1,706
    Hello Jen,

My suggestions: develop your ability to balance, brake, stop sharply, accelerate and swerve/change your line to avoid the inevitable (be it pedestrian, bus or other hard object) that jumps into your path). This comes with experience, though you can hone the skills in your own time to some extent.

Find someone to ride with who's more confident, they can describe the way they do it.

Don't ride in the gutter if you can help it. Bad things happen to people who do.