480 miles in one week - Do I need to do much extra training?

richard36
richard36 Posts: 346
edited October 2008 in Tour & expedition
Hi

I'm hoping to spend 6.5 days travelling in Scotland sometime next May. I'll be staying in a B & B each night and will have the full day (about 10 hours) to do about 80 miles a day. I have a reasonable level of fitness - I walk and cycle often - and wonder whether I need to be doing much in the way of extra training. Particularly I want to know whether I need to be doing longer rides. At the moment the most I've done in one ride is about 40 miles over 3.5 hours.

Given that I have about 10 hours each day to do 80 miles is there any need to do long cycle runs or will my general fitness see me through.

I'll be using a hardtail MTB with slicks.

Thanks

Richard

Comments

• I'm no expert but if it was me I'd want to see how comfortable I was doing a couple of say 50 mile rides on consecutive days on a couple of weekends. If you struggle with that, then you know you need a bit more training. I don't think you should just assume general fitness will mean you can do 80 miles a day for 6 consecutive days.

Even if you legs are up to it, 10 hours in saddle for 6 days in a row may be a bit sore on the old backside, especially if you are not used to it.
  • Forumnewbie

Thanks for your reply

You may be right. However unless I did a trial run of 6 days at 80 miles per day I'm not sure that doing one or two weekends is going to give me any indication of whether I'm going to manage when I do the actual trip.

Assuming on the trip I do have 10 hours available for cycling each day that equates to about 8 miles an hour which is hardly pushing it. I was working on 10 miles an hour which I think would be comfortable with 2 hours for rest interspersed throughout the day.

Richard