What a fool - first fall

dcs01
dcs01 Posts: 23
edited October 2008 in MTB beginners
Folk's,

How do you tell people that you fell off while stationary and fractured your elbow.

I was out riding through town , we have a large number of cycle lanes, I had stoped to cross a main road from one lane to another. Just as I was to cross a car comes around the corner at speed, I stay on the side of the road and try ! ! ! to balance while staying still. Didn't work big time, this is my first week using clip less.
Now I have to wait till the elbow mends before I can get out again. Never had any breaks when motorbiking.

Regards

Dave

Comments

• redvee
    redvee Posts: 11,922
    A clipless virgin. We all have had injuries when clipless novices but none as bad as a fractured elbow. I've still got a skin blemish where I landed on my knee when I was a clipless novice some 15 years ago.

Hope you heal soon.
    I've added a signature to prove it is still possible.
  • toasty
    toasty Posts: 2,598
    Doh :( I'm sure most people using clipless have done it at least once, unlucky you came out quite so rough.
  • dcs01
    Folk's,

It certainly has not put me off, expected to have some sort of 'incident' while getting used to clip less. Just didn't expect to be stationary when trying to cross a road. Bummer that it has put me off work for a while and with a Doc's ban on driving let alone biking, I am stuck doing the walking thing around town.

Regards

Dave
  • sorry i have to admit i just had a wee giggle reading that! shouldnt laugh too hard tho, planning on getting some clipless soon myself and dont wanna tempt fate! :P

hope you heal up soon buddy!
  • stumpyjon
    stumpyjon Posts: 4,069
    Just didn't expect to be stationary

That's when it's most likely to happen, in most serious crashes you end up unclipping without even thinking about it :lol:
    It's easier to ask for forgiveness than for permission.

I've bought a new bike....ouch - result