New to the open road....finding it hard on iron bike.....

Singing Mulefa
Singing Mulefa Posts: 9
edited September 2008 in Road beginners
Hello,
I have recently sold my car and started to cycle to work. I am a teacher and I am setting up the cyle to work scheme and through the scheme am buying a new bike.

I am currently killing myself on an old Bear Valley SE, an iron framed monster that goes fast down hill and on straights but up hill is another story.

I have already been to my local bike shop and sellected my new bike. A Cannondale CAAD9 Optimo 3. It is the 2007 model and therfore was considerably cheaper than it could have been. I got it for £935 with a set of SPD pedals and shoes thrown in......I am pretty happy with the deal and can't wait to get my new bike.

I had planned to go from my car straight to my new and amazing bike but due to a delay in paperwork my "voucher" has not arrived yet...so I continue to ride my Marin....in the rain....going slow..

Just thought I would touch base on a site such as this and ask all you knowledgeable people the following questions:

1. I know it may seem like an obvious question but my Marin has three "cogs" at the front by the pedals and my new Cannondale only has two....also the larger cog on the Cannondale looks massive (obviously to increase power to the drive wheel). Will I need to ride/ pedal the Cannodale differently? Is there a different technique?

2. At work locking up my bike will not be a problem.....what is the best way to lock up a bike such as the CAAD9? A long secure rope going through as many parts of the bike as possible?

3. What is the best kind of insurance to get for my new bike? Should I put it on my home insurance? Due to the fact that the bike is my only form of transport I would need to get a replacement if it got stolen....so I would need the best policy that would replace it quickly!! (I could of course use my Marin as a stop gap - a little like going for a holiday in purgatory)