is there really a difference or is it just snobbery

kev2b3
kev2b3 Posts: 159
edited September 2008 in MTB beginners
I recently bought a claud butler olympus xt second hand off one of my mates. He sold it too me cheap so that he could go and buy a Rockhopper Pro. The reason that he sold it was other cyclist teased him for owning a claud butler.I am pretty new to mtb,but looking at the spec on the Claud Butler xt ,which to me seems better than that on the Spec Rockhopper makes me feel its all down to cycling snobbery.
So is there alot of difference in the bikes or is it down to snobbery.

Comments

• Bugly
    Bugly Posts: 520
    some snobbery but a lot of differences between bikes. As you pay more you get lighter components, components with better finishes and looks, more intricate anf better engineered components. Only you can decide if its worthwhile.

MOST of us dont require the BEST bike but because its affordable SOME of us spend more on buying the steed then we need to. when its all said and done its a pleasure to ride a well built and maintained bike. Riding a cheap bike does not pass on the same feeling to me.
  • scars
    scars Posts: 360
    Its a mixed bag to be honest, generally the more you spend the more you get.

Componentry doesnt alway make the bike, A well designed frame can make a bike. Claud Butlers used to be an amazing XC bike yester year but they seem to have developed a rep for knocking out cheap mass production bikes, i personally like claud Bulters, I had a top end Cape Wrath when i got back into the sport and loved it. It wasn't my bag but for a lowish priced XC bike it certainly did the job.

Simply put if the bike does the job you want it to do Just enjoy it and forget what the snobs have to say.
  • .blitz
    .blitz Posts: 6,197
    Bugly wrote: