Some help on a final bike choice please?

Stalker9
Stalker9 Posts: 10
edited September 2008 in MTB beginners
Hi folks,

As a lot of people are in this section, i'm brand new to the whole MTB show and have spent a lot of time reading up and getting advice on what bike to buy.

The sticky guide on this forum and a 'Dirty Dozen' feature I read from a magazine gave me lots to consider and after taking one common bit of advice from these forums, I have spent a good few weekends sitting on, poking, proding and generally checking out bikes in my price range (£400 - £450).

Now i'm down to two that I really like, but am unsure which to pick. :?

The two are GT Avalanche 1.0 and Commencal Combi Disc. Both 08 bikes.

If it helps, i'm 5' 10" and just over 11 stone in old money. I'll be using the bike for blasts on a shale track round my local lake and also trying some trail? riding in the couple of woods we have nearby.

Any advice and thoughts you can provide would be most welcome.

As for price, I have seen the Commencal for £375 and the GT for £450. I'm not bothered about the price difference really, would just like to get the best for my money.

Thanks in advance.

Simon

Comments

• BlackSpur
    BlackSpur Posts: 4,228
    I have ridden both bikes - I own the GT and my uncle recently got the Commencal. Fairly similar overall - both have nice frames, similar brakes etc. The Commencal uses SRAM gearing as opposed to the Shimano - personal preference between those as both are of similar quiality. The FT has a much nicer Shimano Octalink cransket over the cheap and nasty Truvativ on the Commencal. GT also gets better forks IMO, light well damped 32mm stanchioned units as opposed to the Darts on the Commencal.

However, all of this is uminportant compared to how they ride. Have you tested either bike? Or even sat on them?
    "Melancholy is incompatible with bicycling." ~James E. Starrs
  • Hi mate,

Thanks for the fast reply.