Pacing yourself...

sjaszczak
sjaszczak Posts: 18
edited August 2008 in Road beginners
Hi All,

I was just wondering what most of you like to do to pace yourself when you're attempting to set a personal best on a particular route?

Do you:

a) Start "slowly" and try to finish fast
b) Keep looking at your cycle computer and just try to match or beat your average speed from last time
c) Go out fast and try to get well ahead of the pace knowing that you'll likely slow down towards the end?

The reason I ask is because I'm new to cycling and last week I did my first ride (10 miles in 34min 38s, 17.35mph)... and today I thought "right, I'm going to smash that time today".

So because I was determined to beat my time, I set out quite fast because I was all motivated...but I really started to pay for it in the last third of the route and I slowed up quite a bit at a few points. Motivation caused me to pick up the pace again but it wasn't arf hard work.

However, I did suceed...here are the stats from today's ride:

32min 37s (2min ahead of last week's time!) at 18.43mph.

Am dead chuffed with that...but can't help thinking I can go faster if I pace myself better!

Steve

Comments

• Infamous
    Infamous Posts: 1,130
    I'm no expert, but I find that chosing the right gears is the best way to pace myself. If I try to grind big gears early on, my legs feel like lead at the end. So by using a gear or 2 lower, and pedalling faster, you can keep close to the same speed and when the end comes you still have enough left to push the last few minutes.
  • I don't think there's any exact science. Pacing comes with experiance. You learn, through trial and error (usually lung busting error) what tactics to adopt.

I used to operate a 'fight or flight' tactic when I first started time trialling and went off as quick as I could and if I blew up, well, I blew up.