GT Avalanche 1.0 disc or Kona Blast?

clarkie28
clarkie28 Posts: 134
edited September 2008 in MTB beginners
Hey Guys!

I am relatively new to biking for fun and am thinking of getting a new bike!
I used to have a cheap Giant bike that felt well built, but as i didnt know too much about bikes (and i still dont!) was sold a bike that was too big for me!

So i bought an Orbea mountain bike for £250 but it doesnt feel that well put together as say the Giant i used to have which was cheaper!

Iam looking to spend £500 for a better bike. Which is the better one, the GT Avalanche 1.0 disc or the Kona Blast? Is one known to be better than the other? Or can anyone recommend another bike for the same sort of money?

Thanks very much for your help! Clarkie28.

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    The Kona is a slightly different beast to the GT - more relaxed geometry which you may or may not like. Parts wise it is poor value - the GT trounces it in that respect. Test them out if you can.

More ideas in the What Bike thread for xc and trail bikes.
  • I would get on merlin cycles http://www.merlincycles.co.uk/?fn=product&productId=1380&categoryId=129 £359 :shock:

Order the Hayes stroker rydes or trails with it if you want hydro's still under £500
  • BlackSpur
    BlackSpur Posts: 4,228
    "Melancholy is incompatible with bicycling." ~James E. Starrs
  • I lately have bought a gt avalanche 1 and i for the price they are very good bikes and would recomend one
  • SDK2007
    SDK2007 Posts: 782
    No question - Get the GT Avalanche; it's probably the best bike for £500
  • kenone
    kenone Posts: 113
    A friend of mine just got an avalanche 1.0 as his first bike and is well pleased with it. Im pretty sure kona dont spec theyre cheaper bikes that great and your really payin for the name (good frames though).
    Get your dog off my lawn!
  • gkf9
    gkf9 Posts: 176
    Cant go far wrong with an Avalanche...i got one well happy with it!!
  • mbrfan