How old??

Halotope
Halotope Posts: 21
edited August 2008 in Pro race
How old was everyone when they started racing?

TT's, circuits anything really!!

Tom :D

Comments

• Johnny G
    Johnny G Posts: 348
    41 - started last year. Might be OK by the time I'm 70. :)
  • Halotope
    Halotope Posts: 21
    I was just wondering as I am 14 and cant decide whether to start racing now or not. I think i would be better at TT's but im not sure. I have been riding for a couple of years now on and off as I do school rugby saturday then club rugby sunday and all of the training mid week stops me getting out. :(

Do they do TT's for 14 year olds, I know they do racing??

Tom
  • Simon Notley
    Simon Notley Posts: 1,263
    Halotope wrote:
    I was just wondering as I am 14 and cant decide whether to start racing now or not. I think i would be better at TT's but im not sure. I have been riding for a couple of years now on and off as I do school rugby saturday then club rugby sunday and all of the training mid week stops me getting out. :(

Do they do TT's for 14 year olds, I know they do racing??

Tom

There aren't specific events for 14 year olds, but there are Juvenille (under 16) prizes on offer at many open events. Best way into TTs is to join a local club and go out to their events. You may require a parent or guardian to sign something, but at 14 you are old enough to enter standard events.

Simon
  • Bronzie
    Bronzie Posts: 4,927
    Didn't really get into cycling until I was early 20's and then only MTB for fun. Turned to the road mid 20's and probably did my first TT's and a couple of road races (got a proper spanking) around 27.

Finally got into bunch racing properly at the tender age of 37.