Cube Peloton

nutter_bed
nutter_bed Posts: 87
edited August 2008 in Road beginners
Hi

Been looking at road bikes for a couple of weeks. Looking at purchasing my first road bike.
I've seen Cube bike mentioned and I love the look of this one.

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=23688

Is this a good bike?
The only thin I don't like is that it's a triple.
I'm torn between this and one of the Focus bikes, Variado, leaving me money for accessories.

I know you guys get a lot of this sort of question but I'm new to road bikes and would appreciate peoples thoughts on the Cube bike as well as the Focus.

Cheers for you help, it is much appreciated :)

Comments

• ris
    ris Posts: 392
    i had a go on a cube aerial a month or so back and it was a great bike, but a bit too aggressive in its geometry for a new rider like me. there was a peloton in the shop and i loved the look of it. the kit on it is extremely good value, too - 105 kit, ritchey forks, fulcrum 7 wheels. i'll be honest, if the aerial had been a good fit i'd have had a hard time not buying the peloton instead!

if you can find a dealer nearby i'd recommend taking one out for a spin, i went to garlands in bristol (bedminster shop).
  • Does it matter that it's a triple or is that not really an issue?

I ask because I have never ever used the small cog on my mountain bike!

Also, what about the Focus bike?
    Is that better, worse, same as the cube?

Again, I appreciate any advice that you guys & gals can give :)
  • redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    The Cube Peloton is a very good looking bike, it's looks far more expensive than it actually - looks are very important when it comes to buying a bike.

It's very well specced for the price and was highly rated in cycling plus.
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123