MB gear changes and new

jpstar
jpstar Posts: 561
edited August 2008 in MTB beginners
Hi im new to this but ive had a mountain bike for quite a while but have used it as a general bike. Bugt i have noticed that the gear changes (especially on the front mech) are rather slow. any ideas on how i can fix this or do i just need a new cable or replacement part?
Also does anyone have any tips on steps especially the ones that are in places like Nature Reserves (mainly uneven) this is because i was going down a hill where i didnt know there were steps and i wiped out. I really want to go try these steps again but finisht them this time.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    clean/replace cables.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Moose.
    Moose. Posts: 43
    Replace your gear cables with XTR ones:

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Mode ... delID=1597

you'll be amazed at how easy it is to change gear ;)

As for riding steps/drops, make sure your saddle is lower than normal, lean back loads (bum over the rear wheel) and go over them with a bit of forward speed. If you're going too slowly going into them you can end up stopping when the front wheel hits the ground, sending you over the handle bars.
  • jpstar
    thanks alot that really helped tried a set of steps i failed on badly last time i went and got confident enough to get enough speed to jump the lot! noly a small set but hey everyones got to start somewhere.