17 mile time

The_0ne
The_0ne Posts: 35
edited August 2008 in Road beginners
Had my orbea for a few weeks and tonight decided to go for a ride.

I did 17.5 miles in 1 hour and 5 minutes.

Is this reasonable given ive only been riding for the last 2 weeks?

It was mainly along dual carriageways

Comments

• bilsea159
    bilsea159 Posts: 256
    well done. I average around 16.5mph on most of my rides and I have been riding most days now for over two years.
  • carl_p
    carl_p Posts: 989
    Well an average speed of about 17 mph sounds ok to me, especially for a newbie. Was it a flat straight smooth road?

Can't say I'd get much enjoyment cycling along a dual carriageway though. I've been cycling a little bit longer than you an am struggling to keep over 15mph average on the routes that I take! I live in Norfolk and cycle mainly on country lanes. Norfolk lacks hills of course, but there are a few inclines and undulations to keep me honest.

This evening it took me 41 mins to complete a 10.6 mile loop that I regularly do. It was the first time I've been out on my bike for two weeks and it was nice "unwind" ride after a busy week at work. I realise this was a very slow time compared to what many on this forum can do but the point is I enjoyed the ride.

My advice would be to vary your routes and distance and not get hung up by the time thing unless of course you want to get involved in races or time trials.
    Specialized Venge S Works
    Cannondale Synapse
    Enigma Etape
    Genesis Flyer Single Speed

Turn the corner, rub my eyes and hope the world will last...
  • Halotope
    Halotope Posts: 21
    I am 14 and have been doing an 18 mile route as a training course for a about a year now and do it in 1hr 5mins and it has a few hills and stuff.
  • Sounds reasonable given the time you've been riding. Just out of interest, is that total time or the time on the computer thingy, since this doesn't count time stopped.