155mm Saddles

Min
Min Posts: 12
edited August 2008 in Road beginners
Hi Guys,

I'm quite new to cycling, and this is my first post,

I know there's been a quite recent thread on Saddles, but i didn't think it would be a good idea to rez posts.

Everytime i ride, i have quite severe discomfort in my seatbones, and recently i had it measured using memo-foam at my LBS, and found out i have quite a wide seat bones and need a 155mm saddle,

So any recommendation on 155mm saddles? i know there arent too many saddles that come in this size.

Min

Also, does anyone know if the Toupe comes in 155?

Comments

• gkerr4
    gkerr4 Posts: 3,408
    the toupe does come in 155 yes - but it's not as common as the 143 size - might take a bit of searching,

actually - I can only think of specialized sddles going this wide - their body geometry system means they make a lot of saddles in two or three sizes - the toupe being the top of the line model. I assume it was the specialized emasuring system that your LBS used?
  • Min
    yes it was the specialized measuring system.
    Hm is the toupe comfortable, do you know? it looks really thin
  • manick0de
    manick0de Posts: 202
    Specialized Avatar is readily available in 155. It's a comfy saddle to. Not tried the Specialized Alias but is available in 155.

I've never heard of the Toupe coming in 155. It's not even on the Specialized site. The 143 saddle weighs 155g, so maybe that's caused confusion?

http://www.specialized.com/bc/SBCEqSection.jsp?sid=EquipSaddlesRoad
  • Campy King
    Campy King Posts: 201
    I have seen a Toupe in a 155. Be careful though, the Toupe is a pretty hardcore saddle and not suitable for all day rides, I used one and found it to be comfortable for a couple of hours but no longer. Why do you think that you never see a Toupe on the TDF??
  • gkerr4
    Min wrote:
    yes it was the specialized measuring system.
    Hm is the toupe comfortable, do you know? it looks really thin