Sorry for another "which bike" question but ......

pmg001
pmg001 Posts: 22
edited August 2008 in Road beginners
I've been stalking these forums for a few weeks now and have been doing a lot of research in trying to find out what bike I should invest in.

The thing is, while I want the bike for cross training purposes( as my first sport is rowing), I could definately see myself getting into competitive cycling in the future.

So I want to know what bike would be capable of being upgraded to a competitive bike?

I'm trying to decide whether to buy say a Spec allez sport/Trek 1.5/Bianchi via nirone xenon or should I spring for say a Felt f75 (this would be seriously stretching my budget!)??

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Comments

• fuzzynavel
    fuzzynavel Posts: 718
    Firstly....welcome.

I am no expert as I am a newbie myself but what sort of budget do you have?

what sort of riding are you into. I presume as you are on this forum that you want to ride predominantly on the road.
    Any expectations of the mileage that you want to cover?
    What type of terrain? all flat...hills etc
    club riding in the future?

I am sure there are lots more questions that could be asked but that should get the experts started!
    17 Stone down to 12.5 now raring to get back on the bike!
  • pmg001
    pmg001 Posts: 22
    Thanks for the reply!

Well I'd spend up to 800 ( as I know there are felt f75 going for this) but this would be stretching myself!

Yeah I'd be doing road riding with probably quite a few hill as I live near a mountainous area of Ireland.

Like I said I could see myself starting to get competitive in the next few years as I already have a good base of fitness from rowing (and we all know rowing is much tougher than cycling!!!! :wink::lol: ), so I probably be clocking up a fair mileage-12/14 hours cycling a week.
    I wouldn't be joining a club straight away-but probably would in the future.
  • fuzzynavel
    fuzzynavel Posts: 718