Alas poor bike

Phekdra
Phekdra Posts: 137
edited August 2008 in Road beginners
Hi all,

Upon taking my nice Focus Mares Cross to the LBS to investigate a loose bottom bracket I'm informed that the thread has been worn away and destroyed the frame. :cry: It was only six months old, too... and home insurance won't cover it as it's 'wear and tear'.

B*&^$cks... :evil:

Not quite new bike time, as I'm saving for a Wilier Mortirolo (or something equally shiny) next spring, but said LBS have offered to transfer all the bits and bobs to a new Aeron frame. I've never heard of them but they're made by Ridley (says so on the chainstay) and LBS person said he rides one to work and has done for four years (three and a half more than the Focus lasted!) so I'm going to give them the go ahead. It's £250 so it can't be spectacular, but I am a beginner after all so I can't imagine I'd notice much difference over my weighty cross frame. Anyway, I don't want hill climbing to get too easy! Has anyone got any opinions of them before I give them the go ahead?

Lessons learned - don't get too attached to your bike :cry: and don't buy a bike online.

Phekdra

Comments

• Did you buy it new from Wiggle? If so, surely they are obliged to replace the bike! As you have not mentioned Wiggle, I suspect it was a second-hand buy, in which case its pretty rotten luck... :?
    ================
    2020 Voodoo Marasa
    2017 Cube Attain GTC Pro Disc 2016
    2016 Voodoo Wazoo
  • alfablue
    alfablue Posts: 8,497
    I would suggest that the loose bottom bracket may have been due to poor initial build, but I think the moral of the story is check out any loose things imnmediatley! It could have happened wherever the bike was bought. I would expect Wiggle to treat you well, assuming you have a contract with them.
  • Phekdra
    alfablue wrote: