Wet Bike Maintenance

carl_p
carl_p Posts: 989
edited August 2008 in Road beginners
Have been out on my nice shiny new bike tonight and got absolutely drenched in a downpour. Great fun but my poor bike may as well been thrown in a swimming pool.

I've towelled the worst of the water off the bike, but how far do I need to go with the drying? Do I need to remove the seat stem and dry out the inside of the tube? Will the chain need a lubricant (the bike is still within the 6-8 week first service period).

Sorry if this sounds a silly question but I'm new to the bike scene.
Specialized Venge S Works
Cannondale Synapse
Enigma Etape
Genesis Flyer Single Speed

Turn the corner, rub my eyes and hope the world will last...

Comments

• LeighB
    LeighB Posts: 326
    I give my bike a light spray over with WD40 (or same type stuff) and wipe off. I dry the chain with kitchen paper/toilet roll and lubricate. You will get a lot of debate as to what is the best chain lube; at the moment I am using motor oil as my aerosol chain grease has run out. I did a 125 mile Sportive (ride to the event put total distance at 138 miles) in the wet with the motor oil and the chain did not run dry.
  • carl_p
    Have checked my bike this morning and the chain has a light coating of rust, similar I guess to what you get on car brake disks after it has been washed. What's the best way of cleaning it?
    Cannondale Synapse
    Enigma Etape

• ride_whenever
    ride_whenever Posts: 13,279
    WD-40 on a rag should polish it off, generally you want to use a dry lube in the dry and a wet lube in the wet. Apply one drop to each roller on the top side of the lower run of the chain.

I have for my mtbs finish line dry lube and white lightning epic wet lube.

Avoid spray lubricants as they are hard to apply precisely.
  • I frequently ride in the rain and my lovely race bike often gets drenched.