spinning guess im doing it wrong

andy610
andy610 Posts: 602
edited July 2008 in Road beginners
ive just done a 70 mile ride on sat i have a triple chainring, i seem to be pushing the high gears im nearly always on the large front chainring and dont use the double much, think thats why my legs get tired after 50 miles, should i only use the large chainring which has 53 teeth for downhill only and use the double more, do most use the large chainring on the flat or not. ive been cycling for nearly 2 yrs now, i guess spinning in a lower gear will increase my fitness and less stress on my knees but will it build muscles up, and i guess i will need more food if spinning

Comments

• LeighB
    LeighB Posts: 326
    Lance Armstrong could spin up Alpine climbs on a 39 x 23 where people like us would need a 30 x 28; it’s down to personal strength. I have a fixie with 42 x 15 (74’’) gearing and this is comfortable for rides in our area (South Lakes/North Lanc’s) as long as I avoid the big hills. My winter bike with gears has a 53/39 front and a 28/14 rear and on the flat I use the big ring with 18 or 20 on the rear. My best bike has a 50/36 front with a 26/12 rear and again I use the big ring and middle of the block/cassette combination on the flat. As long as you find something you can use and feel comfortable with I would not worry about the technicalities of it. If you cannot pull the 53 why not but a new chain ring e.g. a 50 tooth one?
  • Cajun
    Cajun Posts: 1,048
    If you can maintain an 85-95rpm and ride an acceptable (to yourself) speed, then your gears & thighs will dictate your cog selection... I did as LeighB suggested; I hardly used the 53t except for downhills & tailwinds and I changed out to a 50t a few years ago....and yes, I do lose some speed on occasions, but I use the 50t a lot of the ride which more than justifies the changeout...
    Cajun
  • CheeseyJoe
    CheeseyJoe Posts: 95