A right 'newb'

Tea and Techno
Tea and Techno Posts: 11
edited July 2008 in Road beginners
I just turned 19, bought my first road bike at the weekend, an Optima Corsa (I know it's not the best thing in the world, only £200, but I'm just getting into it), but I was just wondering what do you guys think would be a good exercise routine for someone just starting out? I'm planning to ride to work, which is about 4 miles each way, I was thinking of making a 60 mile target a week for the first 5 or 6 weeks and gradually build up.

Also, what are the basic essentials I would need, like tools and such?

Comments

• ride_whenever
    ride_whenever Posts: 13,279
    4mile each way should easily be doable, then look at adding in longer and longer rides at the weekends, possibly join your local club.

As for tools, in order of importance:

HELMET
    pump, tube, levers, patches
    fluids (water bottle @ cage)
    Multi-tool - comprising allen keys and chain tool
    lights

they are the bare essentials then optionally:
    spare cable, antiseptic spray, spray on plaster, spare bit of chain, gloves, glasses, waterproofs

then you can just go from there. It would also be a good idea to brush up on your bike maintainance, parktools have some good bits online and sheldon brown's webbie is worth a look too.

Oh and have fun
  • il_principe
    il_principe Posts: 9,155
    4mile each way should easily be doable, then look at adding in longer and longer rides at the weekends, possibly join your local club.

As for tools, in order of importance:

HELMET
    pump, tube, levers, patches
    fluids (water bottle @ cage)
    Multi-tool - comprising allen keys and chain tool
    lights

they are the bare essentials then optionally:
    spare cable, antiseptic spray, spray on plaster, spare bit of chain, gloves, glasses, waterproofs