Sort of newbie here - my situation and what to do?

dean_ham
dean_ham Posts: 9
edited July 2008 in MTB beginners
I used to be really into mountain biking when i was younger (10 years ago) and this is my current bike....

Marin Muirwoods 1999 with 3 year old mud on it lol.

dsc02176pv8.jpg

Went on my first bike ride over glyncorrwg on the weekend and i loved it, didnt realise mountain bike trails like this was just over the mountain to me, but my old worn out bike was creaking and basically can tell its time to get a new one.

This was a brilliant blike and had many laughs on it with my mates, but since coming off it and receiving 2 compound fractures 2 broken arms and 2 broken wrists i havent been on it propourly since.

But im thinkin about getting back into it now after looking through this forum. Seems a shame when im surounded by this below but dont take advantage of it...

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=e... ... 1&t=h&z=12

Does anyone know or recommend anything i can use to protect my arms wrists if i come off again... some sort of protection....

Also like the looks of these what would you recommend...I will be doing trails with bursts through single tracks etc nothing serrious like jumping off cliffs :)

SCOTT ASPECT 45 DISC £400

400179000XL.jpg

Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2008 £350

prod_3397.jpg

marin Palisades Trail 2008

marinpalisadestrail.jpg

Ideally i dont want to be spending no more than £500 ish.

Would it be best to use my bike for the end of this summer and get the 2008 models cheaper, or just get the 2009 models?

Decisions decisions

Regards

Dean

Comments

• lesz42
    lesz42 Posts: 690
    hey!

i have the aspect 45, very nice bike for the money, only things i changed are, the tyres ( to on road ones) and the pedals ( to kona jackshit) as the standard pedals were to small

frame is very nicely built, brakes are brill!
    Giant Trance X0 (08) Reverb, Hope Hoops 5.1D, XT brakes, RQ BC, Works Components headset 1.5
  • xtreem