Newbie Question Re Road Bikes

cosmaboy
cosmaboy Posts: 89
edited July 2008 in Road beginners
Hi,

I have read the newbie page 'What Road Bike' by Canterburytailwind and it was extremely helpful, however i am just getting into road biking after completing a few charity bike rides on my MTB and what like to know if anyone could offer a bit more help with regards to bikes that i have seen on the internet.

Now obviously as i am just starting out i don't really want to spend a fortune on a road bike but don't mind spending in the region of 300 - 700 quid on one.

The problem i have is there are 100's of makes and models and unfortunately i do not know enough about biking to know the difference between the models.

has any one heard of the following and know whether they are good makes:

BeOne Briza 1.0 2008
Giant SCR 3 (i know this company make 1000's of bikes but are the cheaper options any good!)
Ridgeback Horizon Road Bike

Or if any one can point me in a direction of decent road bikes i would appreciate it.

Thanks and regards
Mat

Comments

• fizz
    fizz Posts: 483
    The Giant gets very good reviews and my mate has one thats hes really pleased with, its a good starting point and good value for money to IMHO.

Best thing you can do is get down to your local bike shop and see what they have in stock and what you like the look of and have a chat with the staff in there.

Your budget seems reasonable I dont think you'll have a problem finding something, just remember to factor in shoes and pedals etc if you dont have those already.
  • cosmaboy
    Thanks,

I have spoken to a few shops but sort of get the impression that if i mention a bike that they haven't or can't get in then they immediately get on the defensive, so really looking for general concensus at what bikes to look at...

I don't really want to walk into a shop and get mugged into getting something if there are better bikes out there in my price range.

Does anyone have a opinion on these