please reassure me!

linsen
linsen Posts: 1,959
edited July 2008 in Road beginners
I'm new to the whole road bike thing. I have bought a 2006 Le Mond Zurich carbon / steel bike which goes like a dream but I still feel so slow on it after 300 miles (since May). I know I haven't cycled much yet and I need to be patient. Problem is my husband is super quick. What sort of distances would be good to do to increase my speed? I have very good stamina (cycled round the Isle of Wight recently and went to a party that evening!), and my VO2 max is around 60, but I feel so slow - average speeds never above 15mph or so. I'd like to be quick enough to make my hilly 12 mile cycle to work a no-brainer - at the moment it feels like an expedition!!
Emerging from under a big black cloud. All help welcome

Comments

• Doobz
    Doobz Posts: 2,800
    just keep working away as much as you can without over doing it. Eat the right food and stay hydrated. Try some alternate days where you take it easy and then do a day when you really push to the max.
    cartoon.jpg
  • 2Fast4Love
    2Fast4Love Posts: 123
    You'll get out your training what you put in - if your training is steady speed (I'm not gonna use the word "slow" as that's not necessarily correct) then you'll get better & better at going at that speed, increasing your stamina. If you throw some intervals tho, say you really push hard for 1 minute at a time & then recover for a minute, then blast hard again, etc etc, you'll see pretty decent improvements without cutting back the gains you've already made in stamina.
    Rides a Cannondale Synapse 105.
  • geoff_ss
    geoff_ss Posts: 1,201
    Really you simply need to ride a few more miles. 300 miles isn't all that much since May. Try to ride to work at least once a week and preferably more often. Try and aim for about100 miles/week if you can manage it but 50 will help even if it's in a few short rides.