New Mountainbike Riders in Torbay

fatjock
fatjock Posts: 7
edited December 2009 in MTB rides
Any new mountainbikers out there interested in meeting up to ride on Dartmoor. I've been riding for about 8 months now (I'm a weekend warrior!!) and have come across a couple of decent routes. Anyone up for a ride on the moor in August/September? It doesn't matter if your fit or not (I'm not), it's just for fun.

Comments

• robotsuk
    robotsuk Posts: 56
    im in torquay lol, not far
  • fatjock
    Me too. It looks like it will be mid August that I will be back in the saddle and up on the moor. Took a bit of a flying lesson last time out and have done my ribs, but can't wait to get back to it. Thinking of doing about 15-20 mile loop, interested?
  • Torquay rider here.

I'm definately up for a Dartmoor ride, just done a good ride from Mortenhampstead to Torquay a few weeks ago, some great off road / XC.

Plenty of local rides available in our area if anyone fancies meeting up one evening ?
  • fatjock
    I'd be interested in the local rides.

I'm thinking about either August 16/17or 23/24 for the Dartmoor ride.
    My thoughts on the route are:
    Park up and start at Hound Tor - Jays Grave - Grimspound - Sousson Wood then back to Hound Tor.

Any other suggestions?
  • Im, a bit stuck for those two weekends (wifes birthday and wedding anniversary - wouldn't make me too popular !!) Another good ride is the Dartmoor Freewheeler (costs £5), takes you to Mortenhampstead and then a great ~20 mile ride back down, some great off road and downhill (did it the other week).

If you fancy a ride locally on evening drop me an email to thebigdog 'at' blueyonder.co.uk

Later,
    Dan.
  • Pictures from this weekends ride around Torquay, great little water feature :P

DSC00276.jpg

DSC00274.jpg
  • i would be up for regular meets and know a few other guys who are fairly local who are also looking for other local people to ride with.