Beginner here...

PinkRhinos4
PinkRhinos4 Posts: 4
edited July 2008 in MTB beginners
Not sure where to start really.. My name is Vicky and I am wanting to get into mountain biking, but not sure where to start? :)

Comments

• justresting
    justresting Posts: 292
    I would start by deciding what sort of terrain you'l be riding on as that will determine the sort of bike you should be looking at and also what your price range will be. All thats assuming you havn't already got a bike
    ' From the sharks in the penthouse,
    to the rats in the basement,
    its not that far '
  • kegs
    kegs Posts: 204
    Well, the obvious place to start would be to get a bike ;) Get hold of as good a one as you can afford, and make sure it fits properly, so getting advice from a decent local bike shop would be best.

some bits of basic kit, a helmet, some padded shorts, and possibly some cycling gloves.
    A pump, puncture repair kit and multitool.

Ask on here or in your LBS about good places to go riding and if there are any clubs riding groups in the area.

Then just get out on your bike and have fun ;)

For skills and maintenance and stuff there are some good books available if you want to pick it up for yourself (Master mountain Bike Skill - Lopes & McCormack, Zinn and the art of mountain bike maintentance).
  • beski
    beski Posts: 542
    You can get womens specific bikes but don't think you have to, the maxim is try before you buy, & whatever feels comfortable for you

Have a look here...

http://www.bikeradar.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=12540401
    Giant Defy 4 2014
    GT Avalanche Expert 2006
    Specialized Hardrock 1989
  • I bought the mountain biking UK Magazine just to read so I know a bit more about it.
  • justresting
    justresting Posts: 292
    good start
    ' From the sharks in the penthouse,
    to the rats in the basement,
    its not that far '
  • I fancy cross country but not sure what its all about?
  • kegs
    kegs Posts: 204