Wheel removal on a Fox Vans 36 Fork?

Zabanero
Zabanero Posts: 3
edited July 2008 in MTB beginners
I have acquired my first new to me bike since 1990 and I am a total novice when it comes to bike mechanics. I have taken the advice regarding looking for the manuals for the forks but I have been unable to find the tiny bit of critical info I need. The forks on the bike are Fox Vans 36 -160. How do I remove the front wheel? Probably a really stupid qiestion but the solution isn't obvious. Thanks to anyone who can help.

Comments

• god1406
    god1406 Posts: 554
    undo the pinch bolts and then slide the axle out.

EDIT: is there a quick release lever? My above advice assumes that the fork is pre '07 ish and therefore bolted.
    (pinch bolts are the two bolts that clamp the axle either side, at the base of the fork)
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    open the clamping levers on the leg lowers. unfold the axle lever and unwind.

IE the reverse of the fitting info in the manual.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    If they are a 2007 model or older then it is a case of -

FIRST undoing the 5mm pinch bolts either side of your wheel, winding these out until they wobble loose is a good idea as the lowers of these forks are quite fragile ( I know from previous bad experiences)

Then on one side, the forks axle will have a 5mm allen key slot and its literally a case of winding the axle anti clockwise (it is threaded on one side, but is a very short thread)

Once you feel no more resistance from a thread, you can literally pull the axle straight through.

the wheel will then be free to be removed.

OK, if you need any more specific guidance then go onto either mojo or fox's website and download the user manual as a PDF