New bike under £500

rossib
rossib Posts: 2
edited July 2008 in MTB beginners
Hi All,

I am new to biking and want to invest up to £500 on a new bike. Something I can take on the road (doing London to Southend in a couple of weeks) and something I can take off road (live next to Epping Forrest).

Any recommendations will be greatly appreciated as I really don't know where to start.

Thank you!!

Comments

• beski
    beski Posts: 542
    What about this...

http://www.bikeradar.com/gear/category/bikes/urban/product/kaitai-31957

Or if you would prefer a 'proper' mountain bike then have a look here...

http://www.bikeradar.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=12540401
    Giant Defy 4 2014
    GT Avalanche Expert 2006
    Specialized Hardrock 1989
  • xtreem
    xtreem Posts: 2,965
    GT Avalanche 1.0 2008.............................£400
    Cube Acid Disc 2008.................................£450
    BeOne Karma 2.0 2007.............................£470

The only dissadvantage I found on the Cube is the 80mm of travel from Dart3,
    but the BeOne comes with Recon. See it:
    GT
    Cube
    BeOne
  • RhysD
    RhysD Posts: 105
    ^^ none of the bikes you linked to are for sale at these prices on CRC? much more?
  • xtreem
    xtreem Posts: 2,965
    Weel, I never suggest from where to buy, I just suggest to have a look.
    The guy can see the spec from there, then test, and then he can choose from
    where to buy.

Prices may be +/- £50. And yes, there are a lot of bikes at those prices.
    I just suggested a few.
  • bluechair84
    bluechair84 Posts: 4,352
    Check out the remaining 2007 stock in stores that will be reduced from its RRP. You can sometimes get bikes for half the price - so you will get a rig worth double your budget. Advances year to year are minor and having an extra invisible £400 will pass over any 'old stock' blemishes.
    Pauls Cycles is a good place to start but ask in your local bike shops too. Check out this page;