Jet wash

MacbookMatt
MacbookMatt Posts: 6
edited July 2008 in MTB beginners
Hey folks, MTB newbie here...

Just been on a bit of a trek round the woods after getting my new bike and its a bit mucky to say the least!

I was just wondering, is it safe to give it a once over with the pressure washer? If so, which bits should I avoid? Its a GT Avalanche 2.0 with hydraulic disks, if that helps.

Thanks!

(Apologies if this is a re-post, I did look around but I couldn't find any answers)

Comments

• robmanic1
    robmanic1 Posts: 2,150
    I'd avoid jetwashing altogether, better off with a squirt of "Muck-off", a standard hosepipe and a soft brush.

If you do jetwash you need to avoid the bottom bracket, hubs, suspension forks and rear suspension components (bearings etc).

Hope that helps
    Pictures are better than words because some words are big and hard to understand.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/34335188@N07/3336802663/
  • Generally considered a bad idea. Most of the seals on bike bearings are not resistant to that kind of water pressure and you'll blast water into them.

Not really necessary either - a bog-standard low-pressure hose and a brush gets the muck off plenty well enough.

Oh, and welcome!
    John Stevenson
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    dont use a jet wash unless you are stripping and regreasing/replacing every bearing.

brush and a bucket of water.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Blimey that was quick! Cheers fellas, I'll give it a wash as soon as they apocalyptic weather subsides!
  • Bikerbaboon
    Bikerbaboon Posts: 1,017
    if you can wash while the mud is still wet it comes off alot easyer......... Plus you bike will look betting sat in the garrage and it will make you want to go out for a ride more. :P
    Nothing in life can not be improved with either monkeys, pirates or ninjas
  • delcol
    delcol Posts: 2,848