comfortable road bikes

Dr M
Dr M Posts: 171
edited July 2008 in Road beginners
i posted a few days ago about buying a new road bike. I havent ridden on the road really for about 10 years, but would like to get back into it.

The reason i stopped riding so much previously was that i got more into mountain biking and also when i moved to the lakes i found some of the smaller the roads pretty harsh on my old 531 frame as they didnt seem too well surfaced. I also suffered a bit from some back / neck ache on the old bike, but i guess this may have been as i built it up myself when i was a student so maybe didnt select the right size stem / frame. (althought just measured top tube and it was 55cm centre to centre so not a lot different from the specs of the Roubaix / Alez i have been looking at - i'm 175 cm)

Anyway, there is a point to this post! I'm thinking of getting a comfort sort of bike, like a roubaix. (discounted a tricross bike as i just want out and out fast road bike). I can get a roubaix elite for about £960 if they can get my size in and i order by sunday so am tempted by this...but just wanted to know if there are other makes i should research. I've just been reading about the Canondale Synapse carbon 105. I know its a bit more...and i havent seen it mentioned as much on forums so wondering what opinion is on this...and also any other bikes i should look at. I'm budgeting upto £1200. I'll be using it for some pretty hilly rides and hopefully the Fred Whitton challenge next year if my training goes to plan!

sorry for the rambling post, - just basically opinions on Canondale Synapse carbon, and alternatives to the Roubaix!

Thanks in advance

Comments

• meanwhile
    meanwhile Posts: 392
    A bike with room for really wide tyres *might* give you even more comfort than a Roubaix. Especially if it has a spring cromo frame.