Shimano PD M520 SPD pedal - good beginner SPD?

DevUK
DevUK Posts: 299
edited July 2008 in Road beginners
As the title says, I'm considering SPDs for my hybrid commuter bike (Trek 7.5FX). These seem to get ok reviews from people from the few sites I've read but wondered if anyone had used these and could give feedback.

Also, any other recommendations? Looking for "cheap and cheerful" and beginner friendly :)

TIA.
FCN Daily commute = 11
FCN Fixie commute = 5

Comments

• Dev, I think they're as good as any for the money - I've heard of them going for £15, including a set of cleats. I've had some for 3 or 4 years and they've been fine - probably time for an upgrade now but I can't complain about not getting value for money.
  • DevUK
    Thanks for that :) I've seen them on eBay £17 inc postage and cleats. I'm new to SPDs in general. What shoes will work with these? Just "SPD" shoes? (sorry, really unsure when it comes to pedals and shoe combinations).

Cheers,

Steve.
    FCN Daily commute = 11
    FCN Fixie commute = 5
  • Steve_b77
    Steve_b77 Posts: 1,680
    Thats what I've got on mine, paid even less than £15 as I found some ina Bargain bin at halfrauds :D
  • Phekdra
    Phekdra Posts: 137
    DevUK wrote:
    As the title says, I'm considering SPDs for my hybrid commuter bike (Trek 7.5FX). These seem to get ok reviews from people from the few sites I've read but wondered if anyone had used these and could give feedback.

Also, any other recommendations? Looking for "cheap and cheerful" and beginner friendly :)

Not so keen on them myself - the cleats had a tendency to pull out when climbing out of the saddle, despite adjustment, causing a couple of bad wobbles and several aborted hills. If you're not doing anything severe on them and you're a beginner then they should be fine as they're easy to get in and out of, but I got a pair of Time ATAC ROCs, which I'm much happier with.

Phekdra
  • andy610
    andy610 Posts: 602