Your thoughts on green?

MediatedEfficiency
edited June 2008 in Commuting chat
Hi everyone-

Besides being a cyclist based in London, I'm also a MSc media researcher at the London School of Economics. I'm conducting a study on people who make so-called 'green' choices (like commuting by cycle) and how they receive and react to info on other environmental issues--particularly energy efficiency. I'm hoping you might be willing to help me out.

I've posted a brief web survey on the topic; it should take about 10 minutes to complete, is mostly multiple choice, and of course entirely anonymous. The link is here: http://www.questionpro.com/akira/TakeSurvey?id=988583

Thanks for considering this! Happy to answer any questions before or after the survey; feel free to send me an email directly at r.cunningham@lse.ac.uk.

Cheers, Ryan
My current ride is a home-built alloy road frame with carbon fork with an old-school DuraAce component set that's been dusted off and shined up--a bit rough around the edges but still going strong!

Comments

• Surf-Matt
    Surf-Matt Posts: 5,952
    Done!
  • dang65
    dang65 Posts: 1,006
    I completed the survey.

I'm not that convinced about the link between cycling and environmental concern though.

I think most cyclists ride because:

a) they enjoy it
    b) it saves a lot of money
    c) it's quicker and more convenient
    d) it's good exercise

Somewhere after that might come a pleasant feeling that you're not wrecking the roads or making a lot of noise, but stuff like CO2 emissions don't even register with me to be honest.

I have four children and our house is an absolutely shocking power glutton - TVs and games consoles, lights on in several rooms at any one time, washing machine and dryer on for several hours each day etc etc. It would be hugely hypocritical of me to be smug about cycling while that lot was going on. Oh, and we've got three cars in our family, though mine is parked up and unused most the time.
  • Surf-Matt